DarkTravel_logo

Mysteries of wars

WWI - unexplained mysteries

War zones where the ghosts of World War I haunt.

Mysteries around battlefields, trenches, war cemeteries, underground shelters revealed. 

 

Day trips - weekend and multi-day trips.

Detailed proposal on request.

 


WW I - unexplained mysteries.

WW I - unexplained mysteries. 

Although the front moves, the dead remain behind and a series of disorienting flashbacks projects the horrors of the past onto the present.

Welcome to one of the world's strangest and most fascinating devastated areas.

There is something magical about the battlefields and cemeteries of 14/18.

Inexplicable, untouchable apparitions that cannot be explained by accepted science.

 

WW I - unexplained mysteries.

Belgium - France

Ypres: Military cemeteries - Observations of cold.
The fields around Ypres are also one big cemetery, with rows and rows of headstones at every turn, marking the graves of those who were not blown to bits ( still missing ) but merely died of wounds, disease or by drowning in the sea of soaking wet mud. 

Poperingen: The ghost of Talbot House.

Toc H building, which provided care to soldiers during the Battle of Ypres, The ghost of its founder the Rev Neville Talbot is seen in the chapel, A sense of a presence is also experienced by many people,

Death Row: Although British troops nicknamed it 'Good old Pops', Poperinge had a more sinister side - it was an execution site for wartime deserters.

French Flanders & Artois: Paranormal observations. 
Mysterious, haunting, eerie?The battles at Aubers Ridge, Festubert, Neuve Chapelle, Neuville St Vaast and Loos were as fierce as the battle of Fromelles in 1916, and the battlefields between Armentieres and Arras are just as interesting and mysterious to explore today. 

Somme: The feeling of not being alone. " Where still here "
The Somme offensive was one of the biggest and bloodiest battles of the First World War. It is therefore no wonder that ghosts have been sighted on the ghostly Somme battlefield.
The Somme is now a memorial to the horrors of war. But for some, World War I is not over yet.

Oise & Aisne: Strange forces and heavy earth.
Tunnels of death.Rendezvous with history and death at the gates of hell.The extraordinary underworld of the soldiers of the Great War.
Soldiers faced death daily. Their fate led them to create shelters in underground quarries.


Argonne & Verdun: Encounters on battlefields.
The ghosts of Argonne forest continue to haunt me
The ghosts of World War I in Verdun continue to haunt the French psyche. We investigate reports of strange images and sounds still heard on the battlefield.

Vosges: Physical discomfort.
All the destructive power known to man at the time was used here. High explosive shells and other man-made remnants of war litter the ground here along with the remains of many thousands of soldiers on the battlefields.
This trip includes some of the haunting and impressive images of the landscape of the Western Front as it looks today.

More info >
 
 

Hauts-de-France Mysteries 14/18

Northern France drags with it an extensive and misunderstood legacy of the First World War.

Military necropolises, untouched battlefields and sites with relics are silent and poignant witnesses to the violence of war.

From Armentières to Arras, a front line full of strange sensations and mysterious encounters.

Hauts-de-France Mysteries 14/18

France

Scars of the Great War.

Northern France drags with it an extensive and misunderstood legacy of the First World War.

Military necropolises, untouched battlefields and sites with relics are silent and poignant witnesses to the violence of war.

Especially the area between French Flanders ( Ploegsteert ) Armentières and Arras sometimes seems like a 'forgotten front'.

Ploegsteert – Armentieres – Fromelles – Illies, het dorp met 200 bunkers - Aubers – Festubert  - Mijnstreken & Slakkenbergen: Givenchy – Auchy Les Mines – Loos en Gohelle - Notre Dame De La Lorette – Vimy – Neuville St Vaast – Arras

Hindenburg Line. The battlefields of Arras, Bullecout, Bapaume, Péronne, Cambrai and Saint-Quentin

The Somme preserves the scars of the Great War: trenches, shell holes, haunted forests, military cemeteries and ruined villages remind us of these tragic events.  The Ghosts of the Somme is a search for unusual, inexplicable and paranormal occurrences on the battlefields of the First World War.

The memorials of Pozières, Thiepval, Ulster Tower and Beaumont-Hamel.  Nearby, more paranormal sightings have been recorded at Ancre British Cemetery, Sunken lane, Hawthorn ridge crater, Serre road cemetary, Sheffield MP and Knightsbridge Cemetery.

The Most Haunted Parts of the Somme: Delville Wood - Devil's Wood / The Hell -They Called High Wood / Mametz Wood / Trônes Wood

Oise & Aisne - Tunnels of Death: Rendezvous with history and death at the gates of hell.

The extraordinary underworld of the soldiers of the Great War.

Between 1914 and 1918, hell was on the surface of the earth, but death was underground (underground fortifications, regimental quarters) Soldiers faced death daily. Their fate prompted them to create shelters in underground quarries.

Underground remains along Oise and Aisne Front.

La ligne rouge: A trail to discover the scars still visible from the Great War.

More info >
 
 

Weird stories from the great war

Mysterious and ghost stories from the great war.

The Somme preserves the scars of the Great War: trenches, shell holes, haunted forests, military cemeteries and ruined villages remind us of these tragic events. The Ghosts of the Somme is a search for unusual, inexplicable and paranormal occurrences on the battlefields of the First World War.

Oise & Aisne "La Ligne Rouge
Allied and German soldiers have been seen on the battlefields, in the trenches, quarries and caves, military cemeteries and forests of this battered region. Visitors to this region often experience feelings of dejection.

Chemin des Dames: German army units transformed the Chemin des Dames into an impregnable fortress.
They dug into the vaults of a limestone quarry that they themselves called Drachenhöhle, after the clouds of smoke that escaped from the passageways and could be seen from afar. This name was later adopted by the French: Caverne du Dragon.

Phantoms of war

SOMME - Oise / Aisne - France

Rancourt National Necropolis: The French necropolis and the Souvenir Français chapel dominate the landscape. Located to the south of the village of Rancourt in the commune of Bouchavesnes, the French national necropolis and its chapel dominate the agricultural plateau. 

Delville Wood: Delville Wood was sometimes known as Devil’s Wood, and the fighting there during the battle of the Somme was particularly ferocious.  Delville woods is going on my list of impressive places. The woods are hauntingly serene, scarred by the left overs of war. Walking the Moss covered old trench lines and seeing the stone markers for the road names the soldiers had given their trench lines. Amazing creepy experienc

The Hell they called High Wood: The Bois des Foureaux, known to the British as "High Wood," was the scene of a months-long battle that lasted from July to September 1916. High Wood saw some of the fiercest fighting of the Somme. More than 8,000 British and German men were killed in attacks on the wood. It was called "the rotten place on the Western Front."

The memorials of Pozières, Thiepval, Ulster Tower and Beaumont-Hamel. Nearby, more paranormal sightings have been recorded at Ancre British Cemetery, Sunken lane, Hawthorn ridge crater, Serre road cemetary, Sheffield MP and Knightsbridge Cemetery.
Although the front has moved on, the dead are left behind and a series of disorienting flashbacks superimpose the horrors of the past over the present.

Lochnagar mine crater: The crater was created by the explosion on 1st July 1916 of two charges of ammonal (36,000 lbs and 24,000 lbs, 60 feet apart) under a German position called Schwaben Hohe. The crater originally measured some 300 feet across and 90 feet deep. Despite this, the attack in this sector on the 1st of July was not successful, and the losses sustained, particularly by the Tyneside Scottish and other units of the 34th Division, were heavy.

La Boiselle and the Glory hole. Here, the British and German front lines were extremely close together, and small mines had been blown by both sides to try and gain some advantage.

The Most Haunted Parts of the Somme

Mametz Wood :During the first twelve days of July 1916, the Welsh Division was practically wiped out in their ultimately successful attempt to take the woods from the *Germans. Over 4,000 men were killed; most just simply getting to the area in the face of fierce machine gun fire, and the rest in unrelenting hand-to-hand combat amongst the trees.*The Lehr Infantry Regiment held that position against all comers for eleven days, while the Welsh casualties piled up. On the twelfth day, the Welsh broke through.

Trônes Wood: *Trônes Wood was bisected by the railway line from Montauban-de-Picardie to Guillemont and could be used by either side in the event of an attack. The wood itself had not been maintained for two years and consisted of dense scrub, making it extra difficult for soldiers to make their way through it. Along the upper edge of the ridge between Montauban and Bernafay Wood was Trônes Alley, a German communications trench.

Delville Wood: Delville Wood was sometimes known as Devil’s Wood, and the fighting there during the battle of the Somme was particularly ferocious.  Delville woods is going on my list of impressive places. The woods are hauntingly serene, scarred by the left overs of war. Walking the Moss covered old trench lines and seeing the stone markers for the road names the soldiers had given their trench lines. Amazing creepy experienc

The Hell they called High Wood: The Bois des Foureaux, known to the British as "High Wood," was the scene of a months-long battle that lasted from July to September 1916.
High Wood saw some of the fiercest fighting of the Somme. More than 8,000 British and German men were killed in attacks on the wood. It was called "the rotten place on the Western Front."

The Montauban – Bernafay Wood position: The village of Montauban lay behind the first German defensive system, which in this area consisted of two principal fighting trench lines connected by many communication trenches, To the east of Montauban lay two woods, Bernafay and *Trones, both largely undamaged and with very thick undergrowth after two years of war.

Fricourt, Bazentin and Quadrangle woods – Encounters with fallen

More unusual and paranormal encounters along “La Ligne Rouge”

Oise & Aisne: An underground world where the presence of soldiers can still be felt.

Carrière de La Botte in Cannectancourt:Located on the heights of Cannectancourt, the underground passages of the La Botte quarry are unique in Picardy. This quarry is one of the most emblematic examples of military development in our region and of underground warfare.

The Carrières de Froidmont: The Froidmont quarry in Braye-en-Laonnois was home to German, French and then American troops during World War I and houses hundreds of graffiti and sculptures left by American soldiers in 1918.
The traces left in this quarry are of exceptional quality because they are not easily accessible and their diversity lies in the fact that they were left by Germans, French and Anglo-Saxons alike. Hundreds of soldiers still lie under the rubble of collapses caused by bombings. One never feels alone there.

The Elephant Quarry - Elephanten Höhle: The "Elephanten Höhle" is a quarry not far from the Chemin des Dames. Situated on a hillside, the underground network extends under the forest, where a dense network of trenches runs.
The Elephanten höhle conceals a number of treasures, which I invite you to discover...

Chemin des Dames: The plateau over which the road leads has played an important role in history many times, even though the Chemin des Dames first and foremost evokes memories of the First World War. The sometimes more than 200 meters high ridge forms a magnificent natural barrier and this strategic location. 
 


 


 


 

More info >
 
 

In the footsteps of the Rainbow Division

France

The “Doughboy Mystery”

Laon
Explore the medieval city of Laon, its underground passages and climb the cathedral tower.

Coucy Le Château, the castle and the canon

Château de Blérancourt: In 1917, Anne Morgan, daughter of US banker JP Morgan, moved into the Château de Blérancourt near Noyon. 

Monument de la Croix Brisée (Broken Cross Monument)

The ghost quarries of Confrécourt: from 16 September 1914, the doctors and nurses of the 216th infantry regiment set up camp at Confrécourt in a quarry that would become known as the hospital quarry.

Belleau (cemetery, Belleau Wood) and Cote 204 in Château-Thierry

Of all the battles of the Great War, the victory at Belleau Wood holds a special place in the American pantheon. The courage and sacrifice of the Doughboys and their discovery of the reality of "modern warfare" made this offensive an emblematic battle in US military history, the memory of which is still alive among the Marines.

Château-Thierry. Hill 204 was chosen as the site, where heavy fighting took place in July 1918. 

Oise-Aisne cemetery in Château-Thierry
The Oise-Aisne American Cemetery and Memorial in France contains the remains of 6,013 American war dead, most of whom lost their lives fighting in this area in 1918 during the First World War.

Quentin Roosevelt's grave in Coulonges-Cohan
The Roosevelt Fountain, dedicated to the memory of Quentin Roosevelt, is located in the hamlet of Chamery.

Butte de Chalmont: "Monument des Fantômes" (Ghost Monument)

Monument to the 42nd US Division: The Rainbow Division - Fère-en-Tardenois

Chemin des Dames
The 1914 war revealed the strategic importance of the plateau. After the Battle of the Marne, the Germans clung to the heights of the Marne to repel French and British attacks (September-October 1914).

Hill 108 near Berry-au-Bac and mine warfare

The fighting near Bois des Buttes in April 1917
Located 1,500 metres north-east of Pontavert, this forest was the scene of fierce fighting.

Guided tour of the Fort de la Malmaison
Fort de la Malmaison, sometimes nicknamed "The Sacrificed", was used as a testing ground for the new melinite projectiles. 

The elephant quarry - Elephanten Höhle
The Elephanten Höhle contains a number of treasures I invite you to discover 

Italian military cemetery, lieu-dit le Mont Sapin - 02160 Soupir 

Discover the Carrière de Froidmont in Braye-en-Laonois
In these underground tunnels, World War I soldiers left written, drawn and sculpted testimonies.

 

Also discover traces of the Second World War. 

Wolfsschlucht II - Hitler's forgotten headquarters in France

More info >

DarkTravel_logo

Mystères des guerres

Première Guerre mondiale - mystères inexpliqués

Les zones de guerre où hantent les fantômes de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Les mystères entourant les champs de bataille, les tranchées, les cimetières militaires, les abris souterrains et les forêts hantées sont révélés. 

 

Excursions journalières - week-ends et excursions multijours.

Offre détaillée sur demande.


1ere Guerre Mondiale - mystères inexplicables

1ere Guerre Mondiale - mystères inexplicables

Bien que le front se déplace, les morts restent à l'arrière et une série de flashbacks désorientants projette les horreurs du passé sur le présent.

Bienvenue dans l'une des zones dévastées les plus étranges et les plus fascinantes du monde.

Les champs de bataille et les cimetières de 14/18 ont quelque chose de magique.

Des apparitions inexplicables, intouchables, qui ne peuvent être expliquées par la science reconnue.

1ere Guerre Mondiale - mystères inexplicables

Belgique - France

Ypres : Cimetières militaires - Observations du froid.

Les champs autour d'Ypres sont également un grand cimetière, avec des rangées et des rangées de pierres tombales à chaque tournant, marquant les tombes de ceux qui n'ont pas été réduits en miettes ( toujours disparus ) mais qui sont simplement morts de blessures, de maladies ou par noyade dans la mer de boue détrempée. 

Poperingen : Le fantôme de la Talbot House.

Le fantôme de son fondateur, le révérend Neville Talbot, est visible dans la chapelle. De nombreuses personnes ressentent également une présence,

Couloir de la mort : Bien que les troupes britanniques l'aient surnommé "Good old Pops", Poperinge avait un côté plus sinistre - c'était un lieu d'exécution pour les déserteurs en temps de guerre.

Flandre française et Artois : Observations paranormales.

Mystérieux, obsédant, inquiétant ? Les batailles de la crête d'Aubers, de Festubert, de Neuve Chapelle, de Neuville St Vaast et de Loos ont été aussi féroces que la bataille de Fromelles en 1916, et les champs de bataille entre Armentières et Arras sont tout aussi intéressants et mystérieux à explorer aujourd'hui.

Somme : Le sentiment de ne pas être seul. "Nous sommes toujours là
L'offensive de la Somme a été l'une des batailles les plus importantes et les plus sanglantes de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que des fantômes aient été aperçus sur le champ de bataille hanté de la Somme.
La Somme est aujourd'hui un monument commémoratif des horreurs de la guerre. Mais pour certains, la Première Guerre mondiale n'est pas encore terminée.

Oise & Aisne : Forces étranges et terre lourde.
Rendez-vous avec l'histoire et la mort aux portes de l'enfer. L'extraordinaire monde souterrain des soldats de la Grande Guerre.
Les soldats étaient confrontés quotidiennement à la mort. Leur destin les a conduits à créer des abris dans des carrières souterraines.


Argonne & Verdun : Rencontres sur les champs de bataille.
Les fantômes de la forêt d'Argonne continuent de me hanter
Les fantômes de la Première Guerre mondiale à Verdun continuent de hanter la psyché française. Nous enquêtons sur les rapports d'images et de sons étranges encore entendus sur le champ de bataille.

Les Vosges : Malaise physique.
Toute la puissance destructrice connue à l'époque a été utilisée ici. Des obus explosifs et d'autres vestiges de la guerre jonchent le sol, ainsi que les restes de milliers de soldats sur les champs de bataille.
Ce voyage comprend certaines des images obsédantes et impressionnantes du paysage du front occidental tel qu'il se présente aujourd'hui.

Plus d'info >
 
 

Hauts-de-France Mysteries 14/18

Le nord de la France traîne avec lui un héritage étendu et méconnu de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Les nécropoles militaires, les champs de bataille intacts et les sites contenant des reliques sont des témoins silencieux et poignants de la violence de la guerre.

D'Armentières à Arras, une ligne de front pleine de sensations étranges et de rencontres mystérieuses.

Hauts-de-France Mysteries 14/18

France

Cicatrices de la Grande Guerre.

Le nord de la France traîne avec lui un héritage considérable et méconnu de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Les nécropoles militaires, les champs de bataille intacts et les sites contenant des reliques sont des témoins silencieux et poignants de la violence de la guerre.

La région située entre la Flandre française (Ploegsteert), Armentières et Arras semble parfois être un "front oublié".

Ploegsteert – Armentieres – Fromelles – Illies, het dorp met 200 bunkers - Aubers – Festubert  - Mijnstreken & Slakkenbergen: Givenchy – Auchy Les Mines – Loos en Gohelle - Notre Dame De La Lorette – Vimy – Neuville St Vaast – Arras

 La ligne Hindenburg. Les champs de bataille d'Arras, Bullecout, Bapaume, Péronne, Cambrai et Saint-Quentin

La Somme conserve les cicatrices de la Grande Guerre : tranchées, trous d'obus, forêts hantées, cimetières militaires et villages en ruine nous rappellent ces événements tragiques.  Les fantômes de la Somme est une recherche d'événements inhabituels, inexplicables et paranormaux sur les champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale.
Les mémoriaux de Pozières, Thiepval, la Tour d'Ulster et Beaumont-Hamel.  Dans les environs, d'autres observations paranormales ont été enregistrées au cimetière britannique d'Ancre, à Sunken lane, au cratère de Hawthorn Ridge, au cimetière de la route de Serre, à Sheffield MP et au cimetière de Knightsbridge.

Les lieux les plus hantés de la Somme : Bois Delville - Bois du Diable / Bois de l'Enfer / Bois de Mametz / Bois des Trônes

Oise & Aisne - Les tunnels de la mort : Rendez-vous avec l'histoire et la mort aux portes de l'enfer.

L'extraordinaire monde souterrain des soldats de la Grande Guerre.

Entre 1914 et 1918, l'enfer est à la surface de la terre, mais la mort est sous terre (fortifications souterraines, quartiers régimentaires) Les soldats sont confrontés quotidiennement à la mort. Leur sort les incite à créer des abris dans des carrières souterraines.

Vestiges souterrains le long du front de l'Oise et de l'Aisne.

 La ligne rouge: Un parcours pour découvrir les cicatrices encore visibles de la Grande Guerre.

Plus d'info >
 
 

Histoires étranges de la grande guerre

Histoires mystérieuses et spectrales de la Grande Guerre.

La Somme conserve les cicatrices de la Grande Guerre : tranchées, trous d'obus, forêts hantées, cimetières militaires et villages en ruine nous rappellent ces événements tragiques.  Les fantômes de la Somme est une recherche d'événements inhabituels, inexplicables et paranormaux sur les champs de bataille de la Première Guerre mondiale.  

Oise & Aisne "La Ligne Rouge
Sur les champs de bataille, dans les tranchées, les carrières et les grottes, les cimetières militaires et les forêts de cette région meurtrie, on croise des soldats alliés et allemands. Les visiteurs de cette région éprouvent souvent un sentiment d'abattement.

Chemin des Dames : Les unités de l'armée allemande ont transformé le Chemin des Dames en une forteresse imprenable.
Elles creusèrent dans les voûtes d'une carrière de calcaire qu'elles appelèrent elles-mêmes Drachenhöhle, en référence aux nuages de fumée qui s'échappaient des passages et que l'on pouvait apercevoir de loin. Ce nom a été repris plus tard par les Français : Caverne du Dragon.

Fantômes de guerre

SOMME - Oise / Aisne - France

Nécropole nationale de Rancourt : La nécropole française et la chapelle du Souvenir Français dominent le paysage. Située au sud du village de Rancourt sur la commune de Bouchavesnes, la nécropole nationale française et sa chapelle dominent le plateau agricole. 

Le bois Delville : Le bois Delville était parfois connu sous le nom de bois du Diable, et les combats qui s'y sont déroulés pendant la bataille de la Somme ont été particulièrement féroces.  Le bois Delville figure sur ma liste de lieux impressionnants. Les bois sont d'une sérénité obsédante, marqués par les vestiges de la guerre. Marcher le long des anciennes lignes de tranchées couvertes de mousse et voir les pierres marquant les noms de routes que les soldats avaient donnés à leurs lignes de tranchées, c'est une expérience incroyablement effrayante. Une expérience étonnante et effrayante.

L'enfer qu'ils appelaient High Wood : Le Bois des Foureaux, connu des Britanniques sous le nom de "High Wood", a été le théâtre d'une bataille qui a duré des mois, de juillet à septembre 1916. Le Bois des Foureaux a été le théâtre de certains des combats les plus violents de la Somme. Plus de 8 000 Britanniques et Allemands ont été tués lors des attaques contre le bois. On l'appelait "l'endroit pourri du front occidental".

Les mémoriaux de Pozières, Thiepval, la Tour d'Ulster et Beaumont-Hamel. Dans les environs, d'autres observations paranormales ont été enregistrées au cimetière britannique d'Ancre, à Sunken lane, à Hawthorn ridge crater, au cimetière de la route de Serre, au Sheffield MP et au cimetière de Knightsbridge.Bien que le front se soit déplacé, les morts sont laissés derrière et une série de flashbacks désorientants superposent les horreurs du passé au présent.

Cratère de la mine de Lochnagar : Le cratère a été créé par l'explosion, le 1er juillet 1916, de deux charges d'ammoniac (36 000 livres et 24 000 livres, à 60 pieds l'une de l'autre) sous une position allemande appelée Schwaben Hohe. Le cratère mesurait à l'origine environ 300 pieds de diamètre et 90 pieds de profondeur. Malgré cela, l'attaque dans ce secteur le 1er juillet ne fut pas couronnée de succès et les pertes subies, en particulier par les Écossais du Tyneside et d'autres unités de la 34e Division, furent lourdes.

La Boiselle et le Glory hole. Ici, les lignes de front britanniques et allemandes étaient extrêmement proches les unes des autres, et les deux camps avaient fait sauter de petites mines pour tenter de prendre l'avantage.

Les endroits les plus hantés de la Somme

Bois de Mametz : Au cours des douze premiers jours de juillet 1916, la division galloise fut pratiquement anéantie dans sa tentative, finalement couronnée de succès, de prendre le bois aux Allemands. Plus de 4 000 hommes ont été tués, la plupart simplement en arrivant dans la zone face au feu nourri des mitrailleuses, et les autres dans des combats au corps à corps incessants entre les arbres.*Le régiment d'infanterie Lehr a tenu cette position contre tous les arrivants pendant onze jours, tandis que les pertes galloises s'accumulaient. Le douzième jour, les Gallois ont fait une percée.

Le bois des Trônes : *Le bois des Trônes était traversé par la ligne de chemin de fer reliant Montauban-de-Picardie à Guillemont et pouvait être utilisé par l'un ou l'autre camp en cas d'attaque. Le bois lui-même n'avait pas été entretenu depuis deux ans et se composait de broussailles denses, ce qui rendait le passage des soldats particulièrement difficile. Le long du bord supérieur de la crête entre Montauban et le bois de Bernafay se trouvait l'allée des Trônes, une tranchée de communication allemande.

Le bois Delville : était parfois connu sous le nom de bois du Diable, et les combats qui s'y sont déroulés pendant la bataille de la Somme ont été particulièrement féroces.  Le bois Delville figure sur ma liste de lieux impressionnants. Les bois sont d'une sérénité obsédante, marqués par les vestiges de la guerre. Marcher le long des anciennes lignes de tranchées couvertes de mousse et voir les pierres marquant les noms de routes que les soldats avaient donnés à leurs lignes de tranchées, c'est une expérience incroyablement effrayante. Une expérience étonnante et effrayante.

L'enfer qu'ils appelaient High Wood : Le Bois des Foureaux, connu des Britanniques sous le nom de "High Wood", a été le théâtre d'une bataille qui a duré des mois, de juillet à septembre 1916.Le Bois des Foureaux a été le théâtre de certains des combats les plus violents de la Somme. Plus de 8 000 Britanniques et Allemands ont été tués lors des attaques contre le bois. On l'appelait "l'endroit pourri du front occidental".

La position Montauban - Bois de Bernafay : Le village de Montauban se trouvait derrière le premier système défensif allemand qui, dans cette région, consistait en deux lignes principales de tranchées de combat reliées par de nombreuses tranchées de communication. À l'est de Montauban s'étendaient deux bois, Bernafay et *Trones, tous deux en grande partie intacts et avec un sous-bois très épais après deux ans de guerre.

Bois de Fricourt, de Bazentin et du Quadrilatère - Rencontres avec des soldats tombés au champ d'honneur.

 

Plus de rencontres insolites et paranormales le long de "La Ligne Rouge"

Oise & Aisne : Un monde souterrain où la présence des soldats est encore perceptible.

Carrière de La Botte à Cannectancourt : Situés sur les hauteurs de Cannectancourt, les souterrains de la carrière de la Botte sont uniques en Picardie. Cette carrière est l'un des exemples les plus emblématiques de l'aménagement militaire de notre région et de la guerre souterraine.

Les Carrières de Froidmont : à Braye-en-Laonnois a accueilli des troupes allemandes, françaises puis américaines pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et abrite des centaines de graffitis et de sculptures laissés par les soldats américains en 1918.
Les traces laissées dans cette carrière sont d'une qualité exceptionnelle car elles sont difficilement accessibles et leur diversité réside dans le fait qu'elles ont été laissées par des Allemands, des Français et des Anglo-Saxons. Des centaines de soldats reposent encore sous les décombres des effondrements provoqués par les bombardements. On ne s'y sent jamais seul.

La carrière des éléphants - Elephanten Höhle : La "Elephanten Höhle" est une carrière située non loin du Chemin des Dames. Situé à flanc de colline, le réseau souterrain se prolonge sous la forêt, où court un dense réseau de tranchées.
L'Elephanten höhle recèle de nombreux trésors que je vous invite à découvrir...

Chemin des Dames : Le plateau sur lequel passe la route a joué un rôle important dans l'histoire à plusieurs reprises, même si le Chemin des Dames évoque avant tout des souvenirs de la Première Guerre mondiale. La crête, parfois haute de plus de 200 mètres, constitue une magnifique barrière naturelle et un lieu stratégique.

Plus d'info >
 
 

Sur les traces de la Rainbow Division

France

The “Doughboy Mystery”

Laon
Découvrez la cité médiévale de Laon, ses souterrains et montez sur la tour de la cathédrale.

Coucy Le Château, le château et le canon.

Château de Blérancourt : En 1917, Anne Morgan, fille du banquier américain JP Morgan, s'installe au château de Blérancourt.

Monument de la Croix Brisée.

Les carrières fantômes de Confrécourt : dès le 16 septembre 1914, les médecins et infirmiers du 216e régiment d'infanterie s'installent à Confrécourt dans une carrière qui deviendra la carrière de l'hôpital.

Belleau (cimetière, bois de Belleau) et Cote 204 à Château-Thierry

De toutes les batailles de la Grande Guerre, la victoire du Bois Belleau occupe une place particulière dans le panthéon américain. Le courage et le sacrifice des Doughboys et leur découverte de la réalité de la "guerre moderne" ont fait de cette offensive une bataille emblématique de l'histoire militaire américaine, dont le souvenir est encore vivace chez les Marines.

Château-Thierry. La cote 204 a été choisie comme site, où de violents combats se sont déroulés en juillet 1918. 

Cimetière Oise-Aisne à Château-Thierry
Le cimetière et mémorial américain Oise-Aisne, en France, contient les dépouilles de 6 013 Américains, dont la plupart ont perdu la vie en combattant dans cette région en 1918, pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. 

La tombe de Quentin Roosevelt à Coulonges-Cohan
La fontaine Roosevelt, dédiée à la mémoire de Quentin Roosevelt, est située dans le hameau de Chamery.

Butte de Chalmont : Monument des Fantômes

Monument à la 42e division américaine : la Rainbow Division - Fère-en-Tardenois

Chemin des Dames
La guerre de 1914 a révélé l'importance stratégique du plateau. Après la bataille de la Marne, les Allemands s'accrochent aux hauteurs de la Marne pour repousser les attaques françaises et britanniques (septembre-octobre 1914).

La cote 108 près de Berry-au-Bac et la guerre des mines

Les combats près du Bois des Buttes en avril 1917
Situé à 1 500 mètres au nord-est de Pontavert, ce bois a été le théâtre de violents combats.

Visite guidée du Fort de la Malmaison
Le Fort de la Malmaison, parfois surnommé "Le Sacrifié", a servi de terrain d'essai pour les nouveaux projectiles à la mélinite. 

La carrière des éléphants - Elephanten Höhle
L'Elephanten Höhle recèle de nombreux trésors que je vous invite à découvrir 

Cimetière militaire italien, lieu-dit le Mont Sapin - 02160 Soupir 

Découvrez la Carrière de Froidmont à Braye-en-Laonois
Dans ces souterrains, les soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale ont laissé des témoignages écrits, dessinés et sculptés.

 

Découvrez également les traces de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. 

Wolfsschlucht II - Le quartier général oublié d'Hitler en France

Plus d'info >