DarkTravel_logo

Unusual Belgium

Unusual & Mysterious Belgium

Belgium is home to quite a few unusual and mysterious places.

But for those who are looking for a great experience without the crowds, we have compiled a list of hidden and mysterious activities and places.

These trips show us the trail we left in history and confront us with time and temporality.


Mysterious & Inspiring

Inspiring day trips* guided by neuropsychiatrist Dr Karel Ringoet. 

 

Psychiatry past and present - History of psychiatry.

Symbols and rituals of the Freemasons?.

Mysterious & Inspiring

Belgium

Mysterious & Unusual Brussels - *24 / 09 / 2022

 Freemasonry

A veil of secrecy hangs over Freemasonry. The secluded character of the lodges and the age-old initiation traditions contribute greatly to this. 

The Palace of Justice in Brussels

During this visit, you will discover not only the story of the architect, but also the architecture, the urban planning and the symbolism hidden behind this monumental facade. You will also get an insight into the workings of justice and the role of the palace.

 

Mysterious & Unusual Bruges - *15 / 10 / 2022 

Brugse zot: More than 100 years ago - in 1910 - the female psychiatric patients moved from the Boeveriestraat in Bruges to the Koning Albert I-laan in Sint-Michiels. From Open Poort to Brugse Zot sketches a picture of mental health care in Bruges.

Freemasons Bruges: During a walk in the inner city, you will learn more about the history of Belgian and especially Bruges freemasonry. The route takes in the places where the first lodges in Bruges met. The route also takes a look at the famous freemasons who were active in Bruges and who, following in the footsteps of illustrious predecessors such as Montesquieu, Voltaire, Lessing, Mozart, Haydn and Goethe, each contributed to society in their own way.   

 

Mysterious & Unusual Ghent - *12 / 11 / 202

Museum Dr. Guislain is a cultural reference point concerning the history of and current discussions about psychiatry and mental health, care, art and madness. A museum in the Rue Joseph Guislain, in Belgium's oldest insane asylum built in 1857: you'd be crazy not to pay it a visit.

Freemasonry in Ghent. Freemasonry still fascinates an unpredictable number of people. It found its way to ghent in the eighteenth century and was soon surrounded by a halo of secrecy that has stubbornly haunted it to this day.

 

Psychiatry past and present - On request.

Insane asylum Rekem

The castle d'Aspremont-Lynden in Meuse Renaissance, built in 1595 on the site of old fortresses. The castle was the residence of the counts of Rekem. During the French period (1795 to 1805) it served as a military hospital; between 1809 and 1891 as a beggar's home and from 1921 to 1980 as a state psychiatric institution.

Cemetery psychiatric hospital

This unique cemetery, at the edge of the Hoge Kempen National Park in a pine forest, was laid out to bury deceased patients of the psychiatric hospital of Rekem.

Psychiatric Care Centre

Visits aim to give a correct impression of present-day psychiatry and the functioning of a care centre. In this way OPZC Rekem helps to break the taboo that still exists around psychiatry. During the visits, the privacy of the patients and residents is taken into account.

 

More info >
 
 

Unusual & Mysterious Belgium

Historical, legendary, horrifying, religious and mysterious. Revolutionary educational journeys.

Unusual & WW I & II experiences

Belgium / Holland

First World War.

Loncin Fortress.

Considered the symbol of the Battle of Liège and Belgium's heroism in the face of the German attack in 1914, Loncin Fortress remains an exceptional place of memory preserved in the state of its destruction during the First World War.

The trench path

A German bunker and trench system from 1917.
Considered to be one of the best preserved trench systems from World War I in all of Europe! It contains 4.7 km of trenches and about 21 bunkers, of which 4 are opened and accessible to visitors.

On the trail of LEUTNANT ZIMMERMANN

In the Fortress of Stabroek, there is the Zimmermann room, where a number of aerial photographs of this German pilot from 1918 are on display in large format. Back in time, you will discover the well-preserved remains of the unique military heritage around Antwerp. 

The Death Wire

The death wire was an electric fence on the border between Belgium and the Netherlands during World War I. It was the border between war and peace.
The death wire was installed because German soldiers did not succeed in hermetically sealing off the kilometer-long national border. Many people were able to cross the border because of this: volunteers for the Belgian army, spies, deliverers of clandestine mail, resistance fighters, smugglers and refugees.

Second World War

Kazerne Dossin

During the Second World War, in 1942-1944, the German occupiers used Kazerne Dossin in Mechelen as a collection camp for Belgian Jews and gypsies. From this camp, approximately 25,500 Jews and 354 gypsies were deported, most of them to Auschwitz-Birkenau. 

Breendonk Fortress

The SS occupied it during the Second World War and converted it into an Auffanglager for Jews,maquis and political prisoners. Today, the Memorial is one of the best-preserved witnesses to the Nazi horror in Europe.

Hitler's headquarters

The little village of Brûly-de-Pesche, in the South of the Province of Namur, was chosen to be Hitler's headquarters for three weeks in June 1940. The site was ideally located, only a few kilometres from France, nestled in a woodland. From there Hitler orchestrated his invasion of France. Also known as the Wolf's Gorge (Wolfsschlucht), the site still bears the scars of Hitler's stay and has a concrete bunker with two armoured doors, as well as two Bavarian-style chalets in which the Fuhrer and his officers stayed.

The broken bridge in Bohan

It has been almost 80 years since it was destroyed during the Second World War. It was destroyed on May 11, 1940 by the French who wanted to protect their pension. In 1941, the bridge was temporarily repaired with wood and the tram was able to pass again. But on August 6, 1944, like the French army engineers in 1940, the Germans also demolished it to protect their retreat. It was never rebuilt.

The Maquis Camps at Vresse

In the Basse-Semois sector (Group D), there were more than 20 Maquis camps during the last World War. Depending on the circumstances of this war, they were abandoned, razed to the ground by the enemy or rebuilt elsewhere. It is impossible to describe them all here.

 

 

More info >
 

Unusual Belgium

Belgium

An exciting quest for forgotten, abandoned and doomed places.

1/ Abbaye de Villers

A magical and peaceful ruined Cistercian abbey in what is now southern Belgium.

2/ Fort de la Chartreuse

This abandoned Belgian fortress is purposefully being left to nature.

3/ Blegny-Mine

Descend into the tunnels to experience the life of a coal miner.

4/ Gare Du Montzen

Abandoned since 1998, this train station has become an oasis for urban explorers. 

5/ Sanatorium du Basil

An early 20th-century sanatorium, long abandoned and now being reclaimed by nature.

More info >
 

Mysterious Belgium / Holland

Belgium / Holland

Belgium & The Netherlands: A combination of quite a few unusual locations. For those looking for a great experience without the hustle and bustle, we've compiled a list of hidden activities and places.

1/ Cemetery psychiatric hospital
Between 1921 and 1981 patients find their final resting place in the cemetery of the Rijkskrankzinnigengesticht,

2/ St. Pietersberg Caves
Incredible labyrinth of man-made caves.

3/ Fort Saint Peter's
This historic Dutch fortress still bears the traces of a single siege.

4/ Tower of Eben-Ezer
A Belgian self-built tower inspired by the Bible and ancient civilizations.

5/ Fort Eben-Emael
This vast Belgian fortress was once considered impenetrable, but now it's just an abandoned relic.

6/ Labyrint Drielandenpunt
A beautiful maze marking where *three countries meet.


 

More info >
 

A search for secret spiritual places in Belgium.

Under the spell of the "Lamb

The Adoration of the Lamb", by the van Eyck brothers, unveiled in 1432, is recognised worldwide as an artistic highlight, one of the most influential paintings ever made.

Historic St Bavo's Abbey.

Are you a fan of the mystical? Then these ruins will not leave you unmoved. You are on historic ground here. In the 7th century, Amandus van Gent founded St Bavo's Abbey here, in an attempt to convert the inhabitants of Ganda.

The Majestic Abbey of Tongerlo
In the middle of a green, woody area, crossed by ancient lanes, stands the old and majestic abbey - beautiful! After a sometimes turbulent history, the abbey is still an oasis of peace, spirituality, history and religious mysteries.
The attraction of the abbey is of course the legendary, religious and mysterious painting,
The Last Supper by LEONARDO DA VINCI

Abbey of Villers

Belgium has a lot of great and original sights. Burgundian Belgium not only has a rich beer history, but also counts numerous abbeys. One of them is the remarkable Abbey of Villers, with its beautiful ruins. A beautiful, historic place to enjoy the sun and the autumn colours.

Fortified castle of Bouillon

This fortress, proudly overlooking the city from a steep rock, is located in a valley marked by the meanders of the Semois.

Despite its age, this feudal fortress has been well preserved and bears enormous witness to the events that took place here in the Middle Ages, at the time of the Crusades. The famous owner at that time, Godfrey of Bouillon, clearly left his mark on the place and was the figurehead of the first crusade.

Abbey of Orval

The Abbey of Orval is a Cistercian monastery founded in 1132.

A visit to the ruins of the old Cistercian abbey reveals a location with a fascinating history and of a very special beauty, embedded in a valley where the Mathilde spring originates.

 

 

More info >

DarkTravel_logo

Belgique insolite

Belgique inhabituelle et mystérieuse

La Belgique abrite un certain nombre de lieux insolites et mystérieux.

Mais pour ceux qui recherchent une grande expérience sans trop de monde, nous avons compilé une liste d'activités et de lieux cachés et mystérieux.

Ces voyages nous montrent la trace que nous avons laissée dans l'histoire et nous confrontent au temps et à la temporalité.

 


Mystérieux et inspirant

Des excursions inspirantes* guidées par le Dr Karel Ringoet, neuropsychiatre. 

 

Psychiatrie passée et actuelle - Histoire de la psychiatrie.

Symboles et rituels des francs-maçons?.

Mystérieux et inspirant

Belgique

Mystérieux et insolite Bruxelles - *24 / 09 / 2022

 Franc-maçonnerie

Un voile de secret plane sur la franc-maçonnerie. Le caractère isolé des pavillons et les traditions d'initiation séculaires y contribuent largement. 

Le Palais de justice de Bruxelles

Au cours de cette visite, vous découvrirez l'histoire de l'architecte, mais aussi de l'architecture, de l'urbanisme et du symbolisme qui se cache derrière cette façade monumentale. Vous aurez également un aperçu du fonctionnement de la justice et du rôle du palais.

 

Bruges mystérieuse et insolite - *15 / 10 / 2022 

Brugse zot : Il y a plus de 100 ans - en 1910 - les patientes psychiatriques ont déménagé de la Boeveriestraat à Bruges vers la Koning Albert I-laan à Sint-Michiels. From Open Poort to Brugse Zot brosse un tableau des soins de santé mentale à Bruges.

Les francs-maçons de Bruges : Au cours d'une promenade dans le centre-ville, vous en apprendrez davantage sur l'histoire de la franc-maçonnerie belge et surtout brugeoise. L'itinéraire emprunte les lieux où se sont rencontrés les premiers loges de Bruges. L'itinéraire s'intéresse également aux célèbres francs-maçons qui étaient actifs à Bruges et qui, suivant les traces d'illustres prédécesseurs tels que Montesquieu, Voltaire, Lessing, Mozart, Haydn et Goethe, ont chacun contribué à la société à leur manière.   

 

Gand, ville mystérieuse et insolite - *12 / 11 / 2022

Le Musée Dr. Guislain est un point de référence culturel concernant l'histoire et les discussions actuelles sur la psychiatrie et la santé mentale, les soins, l'art et la folie. Un musée dans la rue Joseph Guislain, dans le plus ancien asile d'aliénés de Belgique construit en 1857 : vous seriez fou de ne pas le visiter.

La franc-maçonnerie à Gand. La franc-maçonnerie fascine toujours un nombre imprévisible de personnes. Il a trouvé son chemin vers Gand au XVIIIe siècle et a rapidement été entouré d'un halo de secret qui l'a obstinément hanté jusqu'à ce jour.

 

Psychiatrie passée et présente - Sur demande.

Hôpital psychiatrique Rekem

Le château d'Aspremont-Lynden en Meuse Renaissance, construit en 1595 sur le site d'anciennes forteresses. Le château était la résidence des comtes de Rekem. Pendant la période française (1795 à 1805), il a servi d'hôpital militaire ; entre 1809 et 1891, d'asile de mendiants et, de 1921 à 1980, d'établissement psychiatrique d'État.

Cimetière de l'hôpital psychiatrique

Ce cimetière unique, situé à la lisière du parc national de la Haute Campine, dans une forêt de pins, a été aménagé pour enterrer les patients décédés de l'hôpital psychiatrique de Rekem.

Centre de soins psychiatriques

Les visites visent à donner une impression correcte de la psychiatrie actuelle et du fonctionnement d'un centre de soins. De cette manière, OPZC Rekem contribue à briser le tabou qui existe encore autour de la psychiatrie. Lors des visites, l'intimité des patients et des résidents est respectée.

 

Plus d'info >
 
 

Belgique inhabituelle et mystérieuse

Historique, légendaire, horrible, religieux et mystérieux. Des visites éducatives enrichissantes.

 

 

Expériences inhabituelles & Première et Seconde GM

Belgique

La première guerre mondiale.

Fort de Loncin.

Considérée comme le symbole de la bataille de Liège et de l'héroïsme de la Belgique face à l'attaque allemande en 1914, la forteresse de Loncin reste un lieu de mémoire exceptionnel conservé en l'état de sa destruction pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

 

La piste des tranchées

Un système de bunkers et de tranchées allemand de 1917.
Considéré comme l'un des systèmes de tranchées de la Première Guerre mondiale les mieux préservés de toute l'Europe ! Il contient 4.7 km de tranchées et une quinzaine de bunkers, dont 4 sont ouverts aux visiteurs.

Sur les traces de LEUTNANT ZIMMERMANN

Dans la forteresse de Stabroek, il y a la salle Zimmermann, où sont exposées en grand format un certain nombre de photographies aériennes de ce pilote allemand de 1918. Vous découvrirez les vestiges bien préservés du patrimoine militaire unique des environs d'Anvers.

Le fil de la mort

Le fil de la mort était une clôture électrique à la frontière entre la Belgique et les Pays-Bas pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. C'était la frontière entre la guerre et la paix.
Le fil de la mort a été installé parce que les soldats allemands n'ont pas réussi à sceller hermétiquement la frontière nationale, longue d'un kilomètre. De nombreuses personnes ont ainsi pu traverser la frontière : volontaires de l'armée belge, espions, livreurs de courrier clandestin, résistants, passeurs et réfugiés.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Kazerne Dossin

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en 1942-1944, les occupants allemands ont utilisé la Kazerne Dossin à Malines comme camp de collecte pour les Juifs et les Tziganes belges. De ce camp, environ 25 500 Juifs et 354 Tsiganes ont été déportés, la plupart vers Auschwitz-Birkenau. 

Fort de Breendonk

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a été utilisé par les SS et converti en Auffanglager pour les Juifs, résistance et les prisonniers politiques. Le Mémorial est aujourd'hui l'un des témoins les mieux préservés de l'horreur nazie en Europe.

Adolf Hitler - quartier général

C'est à Brûly-de-Pesche, à quelques pas de la frontière française, qu'Adolf Hitler décida d'installer son quartier général en vue de l'invasion de la France, en juin 1940.Également appelé le « Ravin du Loup » (Wolfsschlucht), le site abrite toujours les vestiges du passage d’Hitler et comporte un abri bétonné accessible par deux portes blindées, ainsi que deux autres chalets de style bavarois dans lesquels séjournaient le führer et ses officiers.

Le pont cassé à Bohan

De ce pont réservé autrefois au vicinal il ne reste que des vestiges, mais il a sa petite histoire …

Il y a près de 80 ans qu’il fut détruit durant la seconde guerre mondiale. Il le fut le 11 mai 1940 par les Français qui voulaient protéger leur retraite. En 1941, le pont fut réparé provisoirement en bois et le tram pouvait de nouveau passer.

Mais le 6 août 1944, à l’instar du génie de l’armée française en 1940, les Allemands pour aussi protéger leur retraite le démolirent à leur tour. Il ne fut jamais reconstruit.

Le Camp du Maquis des Blaireaux à Vresse

Sur le secteur de la Basse-Semois (Groupe D), il y eut plus de 20 camps de maquisards lors de la dernière guerre mondiale. Suivant les circonstances de cette guerre, ils furent abandonnés, rasés par l’ennemi ou reconstruits ailleurs. Impossible, ici, de les décrire tous.

Plus d'info >
 

Belgique Insolite

Belgique

Une exploration passionnante des lieux oubliés, abandonnés et condamnés.

1/ Abbaye de Villers
Une abbaye cistercienne en ruines, magique et sereine.

2/ Fort de la Chartreuse
Cette forteresse Belge abandonnée est délibérément laissée à la nature.

3/ Blegny-Mine
Descendez dans les tunnels pour découvrir la vie d'un mineur de charbon.

4/ Gare Du Montzen
Abandonnée depuis 1998, cette gare est devenue une oasis pour les explorateurs urbains.  

5/ Sanatorium du Basil
Un sanatorium du début du XXe siècle, longtemps abandonné et aujourd'hui récupéré par la nature.

 

Plus d'info >
 

Belgique / Hollande mysterieuse

Belgique / Pays Bas

Belgique et Pays-Bas : Une combinaison de plusieurs endroits inhabituels. Pour ceux qui recherchent une grande expérience sans le tumulte, nous avons compilé une liste d'activités et de lieux cachés.

1/ Hôpital psychiatrique du cimetière
Entre 1921 et 1981, les patients trouvent leur dernière demeure dans le cimetière de la Rijkskrankzinnigengesticht,

2/ Grottes de St. Pietersberg
Incroyable labyrinthe de grottes artificielles.

3/ Fort Saint Pierre
Cette forteresse historique néerlandaise porte encore les traces d'un seul siège.

4/ Tour d'Eben-Ezer
Une tour belge auto-construite inspirée de la Bible et des anciennes civilisations.

5/ Fort Eben-Emael
Cette vaste forteresse belge était autrefois considérée comme impénétrable, mais elle n'est plus qu'une relique abandonnée.

6/ Labyrint Drielandenpunt
Un beau labyrinthe marquant l'endroit où trois pays se rencontrent.

 

 

Plus d'info >
 

Une recherche de sites spirituels secrets en Belgique.

Sous le signe de l'"Agneau

L'Adoration de l'Agneau", des frères van Eyck, dévoilé en 1432, est reconnu dans le monde entier comme un événement artistique majeur, l'un des tableaux les plus influents jamais réalisés.

L'abbaye historique de Saint-Bavon.

Vous êtes un fan du mysticisme ? Alors ces ruines ne vous laisseront pas indifférents. Vous êtes sur un terrain historique ici. Au VIIe siècle, Amandus van Gent y fonda l'abbaye de Saint-Bavon, dans le but de convertir les habitants de Ganda.

L'abbaye majestueuse de Tongerlo
Au milieu d'un espace vert et boisé, traversé par de vieilles avenues, se dresse l'ancienne et majestueuse abbaye - magnifique ! Après une histoire parfois mouvementée, l'abbaye est toujours une oasis de paix, de spiritualité, d'histoire et de mystères religieux.
L'attraction de l'abbaye est bien sûr la peinture légendaire, religieuse et mystérieuse,
La Cène de Léonard de Vinci

L'abbaye de Villers

La Belgique possède de nombreux sites remarquables et originaux. La Bourgogne Belgique n'a pas seulement une riche histoire de la bière, mais compte également de nombreuses abbayes. L'un d'eux est la remarquable abbaye de Villers, avec ses belles ruines. Un lieu historique magnifique pour profiter du soleil et des couleurs de l'automne.

Château médiéval de Bouillon

Cette forteresse, qui domine fièrement la ville depuis un rocher escarpé, est située dans une vallée marquée par les méandres de la Semois.

Malgré son âge, cette forteresse féodale a été bien conservée et témoigne de façon considérable des événements qui se sont déroulés ici au Moyen-Âge, au moment des croisades. Le célèbre propriétaire de l'époque, Godfrey de Bouillon, a clairement laissé son empreinte sur le lieu et a été la figure de proue de la première croisade.

Abbaye d'Orval

L'abbaye d'Orval est un monastère cistercien fondé en 1132.

La visite des ruines de l'ancienne abbaye cistercienne révèle un site d'une histoire fascinante et d'une beauté toute particulière, encastré dans une vallée où naît la source Mathilde.

 

Plus d'info >