DarkTravel_logo

Unusual Battlefields

"Forgotten Fronts" drags you to the trenches of World War I and World War II.

Below are some unknown and largely untouched historical destinations.

Dark Travel leads us along forgotten and relatively unknown fronts of World Wars 1 & 2.

Secret SOE operations and places of horror behind WW 2

This historical and archaeological legacy of forgotten fronts is authentic.


The true history behind 1917

France

In spring 1917 the Germans launch Operation "Alberich" and fall back on the "Hindenburg Line" between Arras and Vailly-sur-Aisne, a "newly built and massively fortified" defence line. The Germans who were consolidating their troops for possible further offensive operations.

When the Germans withdrew, they applied the strategy of burned earth,
Lines of communication, roads, bridges, trees, houses were destroyed to slow down the progress of the Allied troops towards the new front line. "The Germans had destroyed everything, took most of the civilians, and left booby-traps, snipers and a few other unexpected surprises.

Following in the footsteps of.... we discover the real Ecoust Saint Mein, the forest of Croisilles and the Hindenburg line. The battlefields of Arras, Bullecout, Bapaume, Péronne and ....

This program is in progress.

More info >
 

14/18 - Meuse & Argonne - martyred and disfigured war zone

France

Meuse-Argonne was martyred and disfigured during first world war. The battlefields are maintained as authentic battle sites and remains, testimonials to the fighting waged during the Great War.

Today, Meuse-Argonne boasts the richest “Great War“ heritage in the world. This historic, archaeological and commemorative heritage bears the stamp of authenticity. Forts and buildings, artillery batteries and concrete trenches, bunkers and communication trenches, mine craters and shell holes, tunnels, monuments, graves and tombstones combine to create wartime landscapes across tens of thousands of hectares in Meuse.

3d/2n - Guide - Min 6 pers
from € 470.00 pp
3d/2n - Guide - Min 4 pers
from € 640.00 pp

More info >
 

14/18 - Vosges: Scars of World War I

France

It is not so well-known that heavy fighting took place in the Vosges during the First World War. A visit to the front line 1914-1918 immediately gives a meaningful interpretation of this region, which has an atmosphere as if the trenches had only been abandoned yesterday. Bunkers, tunnels and trenches can still be found here in great diversity. In the woods there are also numerous bunkers and remnants of fortifications to be seen.
The area is dotted with barbed wire barriers that are still completely intact.

4d/3n - Min 4 pax
from € 880.00 pp

More info >
 

14/18 - Isonzo BattleFields

Italy - Slovenia

The battles of Isonzo represents Italy's greatest offensive efforts against the Austrian-Hungarian Empire during the First World War. The eleven battles took place between 1915 and 1917 along the Isonzo River in north-eastern Italy and the border region with Slovenia. The results were usually high losses on both sides without relevant strategic results.

8d/7n - Min 2 pers / Rental car and guided
from € 1300.00 pp

More info >
 

The First World War in the Dolomites

Italy

.Walking through trenches, tunnels and everlasting stories of suffering.

A trip through the Dolomites is an emotional, traumatic encounter with a recent past. From 1915-1917 the Dolomites were the scene of heavy fighting between Italian and Austrian troops. Often the enemy positions were barely 10 metres apart. But nature was also an enemy: in the war winter of 1916/1917 avalanches alone killed 10,000 soldiers, alpinists and Tyrolean machine-gunners.

Cinque Torri: The command of the Italian mountain artillery was located at the foot of these 5 towers.

Marmolada (3343m), highest glacier in the Dolomites and the highest museum in Europe.

The Lagazuoi, also known as the "Castle of the rocks".

Passo Pordoi + walk Viel Del Pan

Monte Piana, 3 Cime di Lavaredo and Lago Misurina.

6d/5n - Min 8 pers / Guide
from € 1555.00 pp
6d/5n - Min 4 pers - Guide
from € 1715.00 pp

More info >
 

14/18 - Gallipoli Battlefields

Turkey

The Gallipoli Campaign of 1915-16, also known as the Battle of Gallipoli or the Dardanelles Campaign, was an unsuccessful attempt by the Allied Powers to control the sea route from Europe to Russia during World War I. The campaign began with a failed naval attack by British and French ships on the Dardanelles Straits in February-March 1915 and continued with a major land invasion of the Gallipoli Peninsula on April 25, involving British and French troops as well as divisions of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC).

7d/6n - Min 6 / max 10 pers
from € 620.00 pp

More info >
 

The Salonica front WW I

Macedonia

During the WWI, Thessaloniki and Kilkis became the bloody theatre of the SALONICA FRONT WWI battles.

Several regions in Northern Greece played a vital role in World War 1. The battlefields, the allied military cemeteries, the military museums preserve a significant legacy.

DarkTravel organizes  memorial tours for those who need to reveal the war history.

6d/5n - Min 11 pers
from € 950.00 pp
6d/5n - Min 11 pers
from € 1190.00 pp

More info >
 

SS in France - The massacre of Tulle and Oradour-sur-Glane

France

The Tulle massacre is the name for the war crimes committed against the civilian population of the French town of Tulle (department of Corrèze). A total of 99 civilians were killed by hanging and 149 others were deported to the Dachau concentration camp, 101 of whom would not return.

The massacre of Oradour-sur-Glane took place on 10 June 1944 in the French town of Oradour-sur-Glane. The village was enclosed that day by the first regiment 'Der Führer' of the 2. SS-Panzer-Division Das Reich and finally destroyed. In this raid, 642 people were slaughtered. Only six people survived the massacre.

5d/4n - Guide - Min 6 / max 8 pers
from € 850.00 pp
6d/5n - Rental Car - Min 6 / max 8 pers
from € 605.00 pp
7d/6n - Rental Car - Min 6 / max 8 pers
from € 675.00 pp

More info >
 

40/45 - Battle Hürtgenwald & Remagen

Germany

After the capture of Aachen battles broke out in the area south of Aachen that was to be called Battle of the Hűrtgenwald. From September 1944 to February 1945 there was heavy fighting here.
From this area in March 1945 took also the advance to the bridge of Remagen place (operation Lumberjack).

4d/3n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
from € 655.00 pp

More info >
 

40/45 - Secret WW2 expeditions - Abduction general Kreipe

Crete

In the "Trail of the Kidnappers" is an adventurous expedition that combines history, hiking and culture.

Based on the story of the kidnapping of General Kreipe, we follow the route from Anogia Village to Rodakino beach near Rethminon for 7 days. During this expedition we will climb three large mountains, visit remote Cretan villages and explore the landscape. We immerse ourselves in daily life together with the locals.

8d/7n - Min 2 / max 6 pers
from € 1440.00 pp

More info >
 

40/45 - Secret WW2 expeditions - The Heroes of Telemark

Norway

Operation "Gunnerside" was the second British plan during World War II to destroy the Vemork heavy-water plant of Norsk Hydro at Rjukan in Norway by means of a secret sabotage attack carried out by the Royal Engineer Commands.

After the German invasion of Norway this factory was under the control of the Nazis who started a secret program to design an atomic bomb.

5d/4n - Min 8 pers
from € 1340.00 pp

More info >
 
 

Testimonials from WW 2

Places of horror during WW 2

"Das Reich" division in France

France

The massacre of Tulle and Oradour-sur-Glane.

The Tulle massacre is the name for the war crimes committed against the civilian population of the French town of Tulle (department of Corrèze). A total of 99 civilians were killed by hanging and 149 others were deported to the Dachau concentration camp, 101 of whom would not return.

The massacre of Oradour-sur-Glane took place on 10 June 1944 in the French town of Oradour-sur-Glane. The village was enclosed that day by the first regiment 'Der Führer' of the 2. SS-Panzer-Division Das Reich and finally destroyed. In this raid, 642 people were slaughtered. Only six people survived the massacre.

5d/4n - Min 6 pers - Guide ( Nl/Fr/En)
from € 850.00 pp
6d/5n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
from € 615.00 pp
7d/6n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
from € 675.00 pp

More info >
 

Operation Anthropoid

Czechoslovakia

The most important event of the resistance was Operation Anthropoid, the assassination of Reinhard Heydrich, SS leader Heinrich Himmler's deputy and the then Protector of Bohemia and Moravia. Infuriated, Hitler ordered the arrest and execution of 10,000 randomly selected Czechs. Over 10,000 were arrested, and at least 1,300 executed. According to one estimate, 5,000 were killed in reprisals. The assassination resulted in one of the most well-known reprisals of the war. The Nazis completely destroyed the villages of Lidice and Ležáky; all men over 16 years from the village were murdered, and the rest of the population was sent to Nazi concentration camps where many women and nearly all the children were killed.

6d/5n - Gids / Guide
from € 950.00 pp
6d/5n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
from € 690.00 pp
7d/6n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
from € 745.00 pp

More info >
 
 

Secret Operations - Second Worldwar

Follow in the footsteps of the "Special Forces" expeditions and experience a unique adventure.

Abduction general Kreipe

Crete

Secret WW2 expeditions - Abduction general Kreipe

In the "Trail of the Kidnappers" is an adventurous expedition that combines history, hiking and culture.

Based on the story of the kidnapping of General Kreipe, we follow the route from Anogia Village to Rodakino beach near Rethminon for 7 days. During this expedition we will climb three large mountains, visit remote Cretan villages and explore the landscape. We immerse ourselves in daily life together with the locals.

6d/5n - Min 8 pers - Guide
from € 1440.00 pp

More info >
 

The Heroes of Telemark

Norway

Secret WW2 expeditions - The Heroes of Telemark

Operation "Gunnerside" was the second British plan during World War II to destroy the Vemork heavy-water plant of Norsk Hydro at Rjukan in Norway by means of a secret sabotage attack carried out by the Royal Engineer Commands.

After the German invasion of Norway this factory was under the control of the Nazis who started a secret program to design an atomic bomb.

5d/4n - Min 8 pers
from € 1340.00 pp

More info >

DarkTravel_logo

Sites de guerre insolites

"Fronts oubliés" vous entraîne dans les tranchées de la Première et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques destinations historiques inconnues et en grande partie intactes.

Dark Travel nous fait découvrir les fronts oubliés et relativement inconnus des guerres mondiales 1 et 2.

Opérations secrètes de la SOE et lieux d'horreur pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Cet héritage historique et archéologique de fronts oubliés est authentique.

Traduit avec www.DeepL.com/Translator (version gratuite)


La véritable histoire derrière 1917

France

Au printemps 1917, les Allemands lancent l'opération "Alberich" et se replient sur la "ligne Hindenburg" entre Arras et Vailly-sur-Aisne, une ligne de défense "nouvellement construite et massivement fortifiée". Les Allemands qui consolidaient leurs troupes se préparaient à d'éventuelles autres opérations offensives.

Lorsque les Allemands se sont retirés, ils ont appliqué la stratégie de la terre brûlée,
Les lignes de communication, les routes, les ponts, les arbres, les maisons ont été détruits pour ralentir la progression des troupes alliées vers la nouvelle ligne de front. "Les Allemands avaient tout détruit, pris la plupart des civils, et laissé des pièges, des tireurs d'élite et quelques autres surprises inattendues.

Sur les traces de... nous découvrons le vrai Saint Mein Ecoust, la forêt de Croisilles et la ligne Hindenburg. Les champs de bataille d'Arras, Bullecout, Bapaume, Péronne et ....

Ce programme est en préparation.
 

Plus d'info >
 

14/18 - Meuse & Argonne - zone de combat torturée et mutilée

France

Meuse-Argonne was martyred and disfigured during first world war. The battlefields are maintained as authentic battle sites and remains, testimonials to the fighting waged during the Great War.

Today, Meuse-Argonne boasts the richest “Great War“ heritage in the world. This historic, archaeological and commemorative heritage bears the stamp of authenticity. Forts and buildings, artillery batteries and concrete trenches, bunkers and communication trenches, mine craters and shell holes, tunnels, monuments, graves and tombstones combine to create wartime landscapes across tens of thousands of hectares in Meuse.

3j/2n - Guide - Min 6 pers
a.p.d. € 470,00 pp
3j/2n - Guide - Min 4 pers
a.p.d. € 640,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

14/18 - Vosges : Cicatrices de la Première Guerre mondiale

France

On ignore qu'il y a eu de violents combats dans les Vosges pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Une visite au front 1914-1918 donne immédiatement une interprétation significative de cette région, qui dégage une atmosphère comme si les tranchées n'avaient été abandonnées que depuis hier. Les bunkers, les tunnels et les tranchées y sont encore très variés. Dans les bois il existe aussi de nombreux bunkers et vestiges de fortifications à découvrir.
La zone est couverte de barbelés qui sont encore complètement intacts.

4j/3n - Min 4 pax
a.p.d. € 880,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

14/18 - Isonzo champs des batailles

Italie - Slovenie

Les batailles d'Isonzo ont représenté le plus grand effort offensif de l'Italie contre l'Empire autrichien-hongrois pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Les onze batailles ont eu lieu entre 1915 et 1917 le long de la rivière Isonzo au nord-est de l'Italie et dans la région frontalière avec la Slovénie. Les résultats ont généralement été des pertes élevées des deux côtés sans résultats stratégiques importants.

8j/7n - Min 2 pers / Voiture de location et guidé
a.p.d. € 1300,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

La première guerre mondiale dans les Dolomites

Italy

Marcher dans des tranchées, des tunnels et des histoires de souffrance éternelle.

Un voyage dans les Dolomites est une rencontre mouvementée et bouleversante dans le passé récent. De 1915 à 1917, les Dolomites ont été le théâtre de violents combats entre les troupes italiennes et autrichiennes. Souvent, les positions ennemies étaient distantes d'à peine 10 mètres. Mais la nature était aussi un ennemi : au cours de l'hiver de guerre 1916/1917, les avalanches ont tué à elles seules 10 000 soldats, alpinistes et mitrailleurs tyroliens.

Cinque Torri : Le commandement de l'artillerie de montagne italienne était situé au pied de ces 5 tours.

Marmolada (3343m), plus haut glacier des Dolomites et le plus haut musée d'Europe.

Le Lagazuoi, également connu sous le nom de "château des rochers".

Passo Pordoi + promenade Viel Del Pan

Monte Piana, 3 Cime di Lavaredo et Lago Misurina.

6j/5n - Min 8 pers / Guide
a.p.d. € 1555,00 pp
6j/5n - Min 4 pers / Guide
a.p.d. € 1715,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

14/18 - Gallipoli champs de bataille

Turqie

La campagne de Gallipoli de 1915-1916, aussi connue sous le nom de bataille de Gallipoli ou campagne des Dardanelles, fut une tentative sans succès des forces alliées pour contrôler la route maritime de l'Europe à la Russie durant la Première Guerre mondiale. La campagne a débuté par une attaque navale ratée des navires britanniques et français dans le détroit des Dardanelles en février-mars 1915 et s'est poursuivie par une invasion terrestre majeure de la péninsule de Gallipoli le 25 avril, impliquant des troupes britanniques et françaises ainsi que des divisions des corps des armées australienne et néo-zélandaise (ANZAC).

 

7j/6n - Min 6 / max 10 pers
a.p.d. € 620,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Le front de Salonique - Première Guerre mondiale

Macedonie

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, Thessalonique et Kilkis sont devenus le théâtre sanglant des batailles de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Plusieurs régions du nord de la Grèce ont joué un rôle vital dans la Première Guerre mondiale. Les champs de bataille, les cimetières militaires alliés, les musées militaires conservent un héritage important.

DarkTravel organise des visites commémoratives pour ceux qui ont besoin de révéler l'histoire de la guerre.

6j/5n - Min 11 pers
a.p.d. € 950,00 pp
6j/5n - Min 11 pers
a.p.d. € 1190,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

SS en France - Le massacre de Tulle et d'Oradour-sur-Glane

France

Le massacre de Tulle est le nom des crimes de guerre commis contre la population civile de la ville française de Tulle (Corrèze). Au total, 99 civils ont été tués par pendaison et 149 autres ont été déportés vers le camp de concentration de Dachau, dont 101 ne sont pas revenus.

Le massacre d'Oradour-sur-Glane a eu lieu le 10 juin 1944 dans la ville française d'Oradour-sur-Glane. Le village fut entouré ce jour-là par le premier régiment'Der Führer' du 2. SS-Panzer-Division Das Reich et finalement détruit. Au cours de ce raid, 642 personnes ont été abattues. Seules six personnes ont survécu au massacre.

5j/4n - Guide - Min 6 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 850,00 pp
6j/5n - voiture de location - Min 6 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 605,00 pp
7j/6n - voiture de location - Min 6 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 675,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

40/45 - Bataille de Hürtgenwald & Remagen

Allemagne

Après la capture d’ Aachen, des combats ont éclaté dans la zone située au sud. Dans le bois
  de Hürtgenwald des violents combats ont eu lieu de septembre 1944 à février 1945. L'avance vers le
  pont de Remagen a également eu lieu depuis cette région en mars 1945 (opération Lumberjack).

 

4j/3n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 655,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

40/45 - Expéditions secrètes de la 2e GM - Enlèvement du général Kreipe

Crète

Sur la piste des kidnappeurs est une expédition aventureuse qui combine histoire, randonnée et culture.

Basé sur l'histoire de l'enlèvement du Général Kreipe, nous suivons la route d'Anogia Village à Rodakino Beach près de Rethminon pendant 7 jours. Au cours de cette expédition, nous escaladerons trois grandes montagnes, visiterons des villages crétois isolés et découvrirons le paysage. Nous nous immergons dans la vie quotidienne avec les locaux.

8j/7n - Min 2 / max 6 pers
a.p.d. € 1440,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

40/45 - Expéditions secrètes de la 2e GM - Les Heros de Telemark

Norvège

L'opération "Gunnerside" était le deuxième plan britannique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour détruire l'usine d'eau lourde Vemork de Norsk Hydro à Rjukan en Norvège au cours d'un sabotage secret effectué par les Royal Engineer Commandands.

Après l'invasion allemande de la Norvège, cette usine était sous le contrôle des nazis qui ont lancé un programme secret pour la création d'une bombe atomique.

5j/4n - Min 8 pers
a.p.d. € 1340,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 
 

Témoignages de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Lieux d'horreur pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale

 

La division "Das Reich" en France

France

Le massacre de Tulle et d'Oradour-sur-Glane.

Le massacre de Tulle est le nom des crimes de guerre commis contre la population civile de la ville française de Tulle (Corrèze). Au total, 99 civils ont été tués par pendaison et 149 autres ont été déportés vers le camp de concentration de Dachau, dont 101 ne sont pas revenus.

Le massacre d'Oradour-sur-Glane a eu lieu le 10 juin 1944 dans la ville française d'Oradour-sur-Glane. Le village fut entouré ce jour-là par le premier régiment'Der Führer' du 2. SS-Panzer-Division Das Reich et finalement détruit. Au cours de ce raid, 642 personnes ont été abattues. Seules six personnes ont survécu au massacre.

5j/4n - Min 6 pers - Guide ( Nl/Fr/En)
a.p.d. € 850,00 pp
6j/5n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
a.p.d. € 615,00 pp
7j/6n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
a.p.d. € 675,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Operation Anthropoid

Tchécoslovaquie

L'événement le plus important de la résistance a été l'opération Anthropoïde, l'assassinat de Reinhard Heydrich, adjoint du chef SS Heinrich Himmler et protecteur de la Bohême et de la Moravie de l'époque. Furieux, Hitler ordonna l'arrestation et l'exécution de 10 000 Tchèques choisis au hasard. Plus de 10 000 furent arrêtés, et au moins 1 300 exécutés. Selon une estimation, 5 000 d'entre eux ont été tués en représailles. Cet assassinat a été l'une des représailles les plus connues de la guerre. Les nazis ont complètement détruit les villages de Lidice et de Ležáky ; tous les hommes de plus de 16 ans du village ont été assassinés, et le reste de la population a été envoyé dans les camps de concentration nazis où de nombreuses femmes et presque tous les enfants ont été tués.

 

6j/5n - Gids / Guide
a.p.d. € 950,00 pp
6j/5n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
a.p.d. € 690,00 pp
7j/6n - HW / RC / VL - Cat B - Min 2 pers
a.p.d. € 745,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 
 

Opérations secrète de la deuxième guerre mo

Suivez les traces des expéditions des "Forces Spéciales" et plongez-vous dans une aventure unique.

Enlèvement du général Kreipe

Crete

Expéditions secrètes de la 2e GM - Enlèvement du général Kreipe.

Sur la piste des kidnappeurs est une expédition aventureuse qui combine histoire, randonnée et culture.

Basé sur l'histoire de l'enlèvement du Général Kreipe, nous suivons la route d'Anogia Village à Rodakino Beach près de Rethminon pendant 7 jours. Au cours de cette expédition, nous escaladerons trois grandes montagnes, visiterons des villages crétois isolés et découvrirons le paysage. Nous nous immergons dans la vie quotidienne avec les locaux.

 

6j/5n - min 8 pers - Guide
a.p.d. € 1440,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Les héros du Télémark

Norvège

Expéditions secrètes de la 2e GM - Les Heros de Telemark

L'opération "Gunnerside" était le deuxième plan britannique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour détruire l'usine d'eau lourde Vemork de Norsk Hydro à Rjukan en Norvège au cours d'un sabotage secret effectué par les Royal Engineer Commandands.

Après l'invasion allemande de la Norvège, cette usine était sous le contrôle des nazis qui ont lancé un programme secret pour la création d'une bombe atomique.

5j/4n - Min 8 pers
a.p.d. € 1340,00 pp

Plus d'info >