DarkTravel_logo

Battle Fields 14-18

These trips will take you past the memorable and historic battlefields of the First World War..


14-18- The Great War

Young men, abandoned by God and everyone, up to their knees in the mud of the trenches and between the rats and vermin, are either killed or injured in a hopeless battle against an enemy who is in similar circumstances. We are used to thinking and talking about this war in terms of madness. The Great War - as his contemporaries called it - is quite commonly seen as a period in which madness ruled Europe. Pointless waste of hundreds of thousands of human lives to the glory of the emperor and generals.

The killing fields of the First World War

In Flanders Fields

Belgium

From 1914 to 1918 the west corner "Flanders Fields" was an important battlefield in the First World War. More than 1 million soldiers from more than 50 different countries were injured, missing, mutilated or slaughtered here. Entire towns and villages were destroyed. The Ypres and Passchendaele region became worldwide symbols for the absurdity of war.

4d/3n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
from € 890.00 pp

More info >
 

Battlefields of Picardy

France

One of the most important military activities in Picardy was a series of battles that took place along the Somme during the First World War.
From September 1914 to August 1918, four major battles, including the Battle of the Somme, were fought by British, French and German troops in northern Picardy.

3d/2n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
from € 750.00 pp

More info >
 

Le front Français

France

The great war in the Marne valley & Verdun was once the great agony of millions of French and German soldiers and should not be missed on a journey along the western front. A itinerary marked by monuments, ruins, necropolis, witnesses to the fierceness of battles and museums commemorating the Great War which ended on 11 November 1918.

4d/3n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
from € 995.00 pp

More info >
 

Maas & Argonne

France

Meuse-Argonne was martyred and disfigured during first world war. The battlefields are maintained as authentic battle sites and remains, testimonials to the fighting waged during the Great War.

Today, Meuse-Argonne boasts the richest “Great War“ heritage in the world. This historic, archaeological and commemorative heritage bears the stamp of authenticity. Forts and buildings, artillery batteries and concrete trenches, bunkers and communication trenches, mine craters and shell holes, tunnels, monuments, graves and tombstones combine to create wartime landscapes across tens of thousands of hectares in Meuse.

3d/2n - Guide - Min 6 pers
from € 490.00 pp
3d/2n - Guide - Min 4 pers
from € 640.00 pp

More info >
 

Vosges : Forgotten battlefields

France

It is not so well-known that heavy fighting took place in the Vosges during the First World War. A visit to the front line 1914-1918 immediately gives a meaningful interpretation of this region, which has an atmosphere as if the trenches had only been abandoned yesterday. Bunkers, tunnels and trenches can still be found here in great diversity. In the woods there are also numerous bunkers and remnants of fortifications to be seen.
The area is dotted with barbed wire barriers that are still completely intact.

4d/3n - From 4 pers
from € 880.00 pp

More info >
 

14 – 18 Along the Western front

Belgium - France

In Belgium, the front passed through West Flanders for four years: it ran from the beaches in Nieuwpoort along the river Yser past Diksmuide in the direction of Ypres, where it curved to the east. It passed Wijtschate and Ploegsteert. Lille and Armentiers were in German hands. From there it continued through the northern French hills, along the Somme, Maas-Argonne and Verdun to the Vosges.

10d/9n - Min 6 / max 8 pers
from € 1930.00 pp

More info >

DarkTravel_logo

Sites de geurres 14-18

Ces voyages vous feront découvrir des champs de bataille mémorables et historiques de la Première Guerre mondiale.


14-18 - La Grande Guerre

De jeunes hommes, abandonnés par dieu et par tous, à genoux dans la boue des tranchées entre les bestioles, sont soit estropiés, soit blessés dans une bataille sans espoir contre un ennemi dans des circonstances semblables. Nous avons l'habitude de penser et de parler de cette guerre en termes de folie. La Grande Guerre - comme l'appelaient ses contemporains - est couramment considérée comme une période pendant laquelle la folie régnait en Europe. Le gaspillage inutile de centaines de milliers de vies humaines pour l'honneur et la gloire de l'empereur et des généraux.

The killing fields of the First World War

In Flanders Fields

Belgique

De 1914 à 1918, le secteur ouest "Flanders Fields" fut un champ de bataille important de la Première Guerre mondiale. Plus d'un million de soldats de plus de 50 pays différents ont été blessés, disparus, mutilés ou massacrés dans cette région. Des villes et des villages entiers ont été détruits. La région d'Ypres et de Passchendaele est devenue le symbole mondial de l'inutilité de la guerre.

4j/3n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 890,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Champs de bataille de la Picardie

France

L'une des activités militaires les plus importantes en Picardie fut une série de batailles qui se déroula le long de la Somme pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.
De septembre 1914 à août 1918, quatre grandes batailles, dont la bataille de la Somme, sont livrées par les troupes britanniques, françaises et allemandes en Picardie du Nord.

3j/2n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 750,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Le front Français

La grande guerre dans la vallée de la Marne & Verdun fut autrefois la grande souffrance de millions de soldats français et allemands et ne devrait pas être manquée lors d'un voyage sur le front occidental. Un itinéraire marqué par des monuments, des ruines, des nécropoles, des témoignages de la cruauté des batailles et des musées qui rappellent la Grande Guerre qui se termina le 11 novembre 1918.

4j/3n - Min 4 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 995,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Meuse & Argonne

France

La Meuse-Argonne a été un département martyr et défiguré, Témoins des combats de la Grande Guerre.

La région Meuse-Argonne possède aujourd’hui le plus riche patrimoine «Grande Guerre» au monde. Cet héritage historique, archéologique et mémoriel est marqué d’authenticité. Forts et ouvrages, batteries d’artillerie et retranchements bétonnés, tranchées et boyaux de communication, cratères de mines et trous d’obus, tunnels et galeries, monuments, tombes et stèles façonnent des paysages de guerre sur des dizaines de milliers d’hectares à travers le département…

3j/2n - Guide - Min 6 pers
a.p.d. € 490,00 pp
3j/2n - Guide - Min 4 pers
a.p.d. € 640,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

Vosges : les champs de bataille oubliés

France

On ignore qu'il y a eu de violents combats dans les Vosges pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Une visite au front 1914-1918 donne immédiatement une interprétation significative de cette région, qui dégage une atmosphère comme si les tranchées n'avaient été abandonnées que depuis hier. Les bunkers, les tunnels et les tranchées y sont encore très variés. Dans les bois il existe aussi de nombreux bunkers et vestiges de fortifications à découvrir.
La zone est couverte de barbelés qui sont encore complètement intacts.

4j/3n - A partir de 4 pers
a.p.d. € 880,00 pp

Plus d'info >
 

14 - 18 Le long du front occidental

Belgique - France

En Belgique, le front a traversé la Flandre occidentale pendant quatre ans : il s'étendait des plages de Nieuwpoort le long de l'Yser en passant par Diksmuide en direction d'Ypres, qu'il contournait en arceau vers l'Est. Il passa Wijtschate et Ploegsteert.  Lille et Armentiers étaient aux mains des Allemands. De là, elle a continué à travers les collines du nord de la France, le long de la Somme, de la Meuse Argonne et de Verdun jusqu'aux Vosges.

10j/9n - Min 6 / max 8 pers
a.p.d. € 1930,00 pp

Plus d'info >